Finding our way & getting lost... - Reisverslag uit Perth, Australië van Myrthe Glastra van Loon - WaarBenJij.nu Finding our way & getting lost... - Reisverslag uit Perth, Australië van Myrthe Glastra van Loon - WaarBenJij.nu

Finding our way & getting lost...

Door: Myrthe

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Myrthe

23 April 2014 | Australië, Perth

Hi everyone (:
It's already our second week here in Perth and we are, or at least I am, enjoying it very much! The weather is still being very kind and I have to admit part of the fun is that I get to eat so many delicious things here that in Holland are simply out of my league. As some of you might know I'm allergic to dairy and wheat which for me often means I have to miss out on some of life's biggest pleasures (read chocolate). But not in Australia! Oh no, I've been living the vegan chocolate dream here. To give you an idea: vegan chocolate bars, vegan dark chocolate and nut spread, and even a dairy and gluten free chocolate mud cake! Oh yes, a chocolate mud cake. And honestly it tasted better than any chocolate cake I've ever eaten before! Might have to start a vegan chocolate import business when I get back :P
Anyway. Enough about food. Let's talk activities! Yesterday Sanne and I had quite an adventure. We decided to drive to Coogee beach together to enjoy the sun and the waves. Coogee appeared to be completely abandoned when we got there so we pretty much had a private beach! As we went for a walk we saw THREE pelicans and two boys with a tame goose, which was probably the most strange of the two.
When the sun had started setting we got back to the car and prepared to drive back home. Only Sanne's GPS had decided to opt out. Which pretty much meant we didn't have any directions whatsoever to guide us home. We tried to do it on our gut feeling but that resulted in dead end roads and never before seen surroudings.
We finally got back on track a little when we arrived in a town called Beeliar. We went to Coles (supermarket) to get something to eat and asked the cashier for directions. She told us how to get to Canning Vale (our neighborhood) but hadn't really heard of Nevis Lane (where we're staying). So off we went, it was pitch black by now, relying on the direction's from the supermarket cashier and driving on the 'wrong' side of the road. Fortunately we indeed ended up in Canning Vale and quickly found the supermarket from which we easily knew how to get home. You understand we were both very happy to be back. And even though I kinda pissed my pants at some point, is was a good lesson for a next time. Never ever rely on electronics alone. Period.
Besides this very adventurous trip we also went on some less nerve wrecking trips including a visit to Kings Park, the biggest city park in the world and perfect spot to relax while looking out over the city centre and Swan River.
Other activities included reading, sunbathing and doing pretty much nothing. Me and Sanne appear to be very good at that.
On a side note, we are going to visit Rottnest Island tomorrow, which is very exciting! You may want to google it ;)
For now I'm going to munch a big bowl of fruit salad, so have a good one and seeya soon!

  • 23 April 2014 - 14:44

    Marjon Kropff:

    Dear Myrthe,
    What an adventure. I'am reading your blog with a smile because it's so vivinding

  • 23 April 2014 - 14:52

    Marinka:

    Hey there dearest girl! Je net gesproken en nu je blog gelezen. Heerlijk weer even. En wat een avontuur:-) creative and smart girls find their way, ook zonder electronics... Pff goed hoor. Rottnest is top. Enjoy!! XXX

  • 23 April 2014 - 15:43

    Maddi:

    Wohooo adventure time!! Love to read everything about your adventures in more detail! Have fun tomorrow!! :)

  • 25 April 2014 - 08:02

    Jan:

    Way to go! Nice to read all your experiences. It's clear you're enjoying your self. Have fun! It's a ones in a life time experience. X

  • 25 April 2014 - 08:02

    Jan:

    Way to go! Nice to read all your experiences. It's clear you're enjoying your self. Have fun! It's a ones in a life time experience. X

  • 25 April 2014 - 13:16

    Myrthe Glastra Van Loon:

    Still funny that even though I was driving, YOU were freaked.
    I was sitting on the wrong side of the car, with the gear switch in the wrong hand, cramped feet from the incredibly high arranged pedal (also maybe from the lack of shoes). All of which was of course VERY uncomfortable and I felt tired and hungry and cold, the car drove kind of creepy: your life was in my hands.

    And you pissed your pants.

    I find myself an incredibly brave woman at this point. Cheers for Sanne.

    Love!
    (why is everybody so afraid of love?) LOVE!!!
    hihi, no homo vater

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Myrthe

Hi everyone, I'm Myrthe, 18 years old and together with my friend Sanne I am going to discover Down Under. From Perth to Cairns to Sydney, our route is very diverse. After 2 months of total Aussie freedom I will continue my journey in Sri Lanka where I will be working as a volunteer at a school near Colombo. I'm looking forward to updating you all on how we're doing, what we're seeing and where we're going. Stay tuned!

Actief sinds 12 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 307
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7301

Voorgaande reizen:

12 April 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

13 April 2014 - 03 Juni 2014

Australia: West to East

Landen bezocht: